July 25,2016

jessica

Dear Friends and Family,

Lately we have come in contact with many people that have confided in us their trials or past trials. It makes it hard on my heart to see all the sadness and pain others are going through. I know Heavenly Father wants us to be put in the refiners fire to be shaped and stretched into something much more beautiful but in those moments of disappointment and grief we can’t bring ourselves to understand. Really nobody can truly understand except Jesus Christ. There’s a little missionary book my family gave me before I left for Oklahoma and I turned to the chapter ‘Overcoming Trials’. One of the quotes that caught my attention was:
ย ” The gem cannot be polished without friction, nor man perfected without trials.”
Are we willing to be polished? Are we willing to accept the plan Heavenly Father has for us? I know I’ve been blessed with a loving family and sweet friends, looking from the outside in, people assume I haven’t had many trials yet. Notice how I said ‘yet’, I know this life isn’t going to be a walk in the park and I know I’m going to face more disappointments ahead, just like the rest of us. We must not pick and choose who to help, we should desire to help everyone and allow the Spirit to help us to do so.
D&C 68:4-6 says:
“And whatsoever they shall speak when moved upon by the Holy Ghost shall be scripture, shall be the will of the Lord, shall be the mind of the Lord, shall be the word of the Lord, shall be the voice of the Lord, and the power of God unto salvation. Behold this is the promise of the Lord unto you, O ye my servants. Wherefore, be of good cheer, and do not fear, for I the Lord am with you, and will stand by you; and ye shall bear record of me, even Jesus Christ, that I am the Son of the living God, that I was, that I am, and that I am to come.”
We should be of good cheer and not fear! ๐Ÿ™‚ We should allow the Spirit in our lives and allow Him to work through us. We should be eager to have others see their value and beauty in their process of becoming a gem. We truly are being polished by the hands of God himself. โค
Anyhow, this has been an interesting week.. a crazy highlight is last night Sister W and I woke up to gun shots outside our apartment at 3:40am. I reported it anonymously to the cops. Soo there’s that.. don’t worry Mom, that’s not the norm. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was too scared to even get up to pee so I waited till it got light outside lol and I stayed up planning in my head what I’d do if someone broke in.. I know we are protected though and Heavenly Father got quite a few prayers from me so I’m pretty sure we’re closer now haha. I love my Heavenly Father,
Miracle!
One day on our way to an investigators house we decided to share the Book of Mormon with a few people along the way, We shared a book with a family and testified of it’s truth and they soon after referred us to their neighbors house. They told us a boy named Ty always has lots of questions and is trying to find the truth. We knocked on his door and him and his father came out and sat under a tree with us as we taught them the restoration lesson. Come to find out the father has met with missionaries before and has a Book of Mormon along with a Christ pass along card ย in his wallet. Ty told us “I had a dream of a girl with blue eyes just like yours and that their was a bunk bed and a book.. and something about 40 days?” Sister W and I looked at each other in awe and went on to tell him about the 40 day fast starting next week. We are putting together a 40 day fast where a member or family will fast for one day then the next day another family or individual will fast on the purpose of bringing others to the Gospel. Ty seemed thrilled and asked us more questions from the Bible that we were able to answer from the Book of Mormon. He came to church yesterday and hit it off with another investigator that was there. We’re excited for him but may have to pass him off to the Elders to teach.. because once again our investigators are not only interested in the Gospel.. they’re interested in Sister Missionaries. But hey! It doesn’t matter what part we play in someones conversion process; beginning, middle or end- it’s still a part. ๐Ÿ™‚
I hope and pray y’all have a sweet week!
With much love,
Sister Long
Leave a Reply

