October 24, 2016

Dear Friends and Family,

This week has been pretty eventful! I don’t know where to start! The Chickasha Branch feels Oklahomie and all the people are as sweet as can be. ❤ Halloween is coming up so we’re passing out tons of flyers for the trunk or treat and encouraging all the members to bring as many friends as possible. We have a few neighbors that should be coming as well that we’re pretty excited about. My companion got poison ivy that is apparently contagious.. a few other missionaries have it too. A biology professor in the ward gave her a hazmat suite ROTFL!! Poor girl.. I tried telling her to wear oven mits so she stops scratching. I doubt I’ll get it. Weirdly enough all my companions have been attacked by bugs and illnesses while I’m invincible! Maybe I’m a bad luck companion.. or I’m supposed to learn from their trails or something. Isn’t she cute?
PTDC1035.JPG

Who wouldn’t want to know more about The Book of Mormon looking like that?
I don’t think there’s any other companionship like ours! ❤
I really do love Sister Webber! We’re having a lot of fun!! And I mean just look at our District,
and what other missionaries get to help spay and neuter dogs? One of a kind District.🐩
This week we met with our 58 year old Investigator Gary, who is very patriotic and well it’s hard to describe Gary. This last lesson he got emotional telling about how he never expected to be crippled as he pushed his walker away in frustration. He has a close relationship with God but just can’t figure out why he’s still here. He’s willing to pray and learn about what we have to tell him and he always has lots of questions. We sure love him and his wife! This week some of the men from the ward are going to build him a ramp so he can come to church. I know the Savior set the perfect example that we should help and love EVERYONE just as God wants us to! Mosiah 18:9 “Yea, and are willing to mourn with those that mourn; yea, and comfort those that stand in need of comfort, and to stand as witnesses of God at all times and in all things, and in all places that ye may be in…” I know if we show charity towards everyone around us and be an example we will impact many lives and help others to come to accept the message Heavenly Father wants us to know! 🙂
It’s hard to see others go through trials, but I know it’s ultimately for our gain and benefit. There’s a quote I always think of that says “every tear we shed on earth will be returned to us with 100 tears of gratitude in Heaven.” Life isn’t meant to be easy but it can be easier when we rely on Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father. ❤ We’re blessed to know the good from the bad!! “Those who are saddened by the loss of joy they once felt are the blessed ones.” -Henrey B. Eyering
YOU’RE BLESSED!
I truly do love my mission and all the people I’ve been lucky enough to meet. It’s sweet to see how the Gospel changes lives! There’s two ladies in the branch, a recent convert and returning less active named Mia and Don that we are helping prepare to go through the temple for the first time! They both are so excited to do the work for their ancestors who have passed on. Not only that, Mias husband passed away 4 years ago and wants to be sealed to him! Isn’t it amazing to know we can be with our spouses forever, not just “till death do you part”.  I am beyond grateful to be sealed to my family for all eternity, I love them so much. I know Heavenly Fathers love for us is unmeasurable and infinite, that’s why he’s provided this plan for us!! We just need to trust Him. 2 Nephi 4:34-35!!
I love y’all! 😍 I pray for y’all all the time!!!
Forever,
Sister Jessica Long
🎃🍁🌽
Oh also we went to a corn maze for dinner with John and Sariah’s huge family(8 kids all under 14) that’s investigating. They rented out a fire pit to have dinner and we had the time of our lives. We also had an STL shadow us that day, Sister Holly. 🙂 We had A LOT of fun! Missions are the best. Pray for the King family!! 🙂 We love them! We also gained a new investigator named Elijah that is step brothers to Riobi. Elijah told us he read a little bit of Riobi’s Book of Mormon that he saw in his drawer, so we gave him his own book. I love that as missionaries we never tell people to believe us, we tell them to ask God for themselves if The Book of Mormon is true. And if it is true that means The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is in fact the Lord’s Kingdom upon this Earth. 🌍 I wouldn’t be a missionary if I didn’t come to know for myself. ❤
Leave a Reply

