July 31, 2017

 

Dear Friends and Family,

This is my last letter home as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. My heart is full. I came to Oklahoma expecting to make friends but I made family. As hard as it is for me to write this letter and begin to say goodbye to the beautiful people of Oklahoma, I know that it’s time.
This week we were blessed to be able to see Eric York get baptized. It warms my heart knowing he’s been searching for this his whole life. I can’t explain the joy I feel for him.Β I have no doubt he will hold many callings in the church and impact a lot of lives. He is so determined to serve and be like Jesus Christ. He is wonderful along with his wife, Rachel. ❀ It shows with how many people came to his baptism haha it was huge, they are very loved. I know I sure do love them! I pray to keep in touch with Eric and Rachel forever.

Sad news. Hunter, from Bartlesville was supposed to get baptized on Saturday and I was going to skype in.. but a few days prior he went MIA and hasn’t come home. 😦 Sister Hermana Medeiros called me and my heart broke. I pray they find him soon.

Mark and his family are doing well, every time we go over there they’re busy but the kids keep telling us things like “mom, keeps taking her Book of Mormon to work” or “Dad reads it at night” It’s so exciting! We have quite a few other investigators in that same boat too, they’ve been busy but are reading it. πŸ™‚ I wish everyone would read it and see that it truly is from Heavenly Father and that it constantly testifies of Jesus Christ.
I have so many things to say with so little time!..
I’ve begged President Mansell over and over again to let me stay a little longer.. it’s just not working. So Sister Nicoll and I came up with a plan. I’m going to turn around right before I get on the plane.. so President thinks we’re all on. Then Sister Nicoll will dramatically drift up to the curb and I’ll fly into the back seat. I’ll hide out in their apartment and continue to be a secret missionary. πŸ˜‰ No, I know that Heavenly Father has a specific plan for me and I’m going to do whatever it takes to follow it. He needs me to come home. And I want to come home. I miss my family. I’m feeling all sorts of mixed emotions and I just need to breathe. He always knows best and sees the bigger picture, I trust Him. πŸ™‚
I’m getting transferred to Utah and my next companion is my eternal companion. πŸ˜‰ Sister Nicoll will be training in Mustang 1 with a missionary fresh out of the MTC. Elder Scott is taking over the area of Mustang 2 as a greenie, he’s on his second transfer! He’ll be AP at some point on his mission. I swear he’s a brother to me. And Elder Clarke got called as AP!! My heart is breaking into a million pieces, I’ll miss the MUSTANG SQUAD.
Β I never would have thought in a million years I’d be serving a mission, but it has changed my life forever. I can honestly say I have never felt closer to Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. I didn’t think it was possible to come this close to Them on Earth. And I learned the language of the Spirit! I learned how to be a true Disciple of Jesus Christ and to love and serve all my brothers or sisters. I have seen others change and grow and in the mean time it has helped me to do the same. Seeing others find and accept the Gospel has brought me so much joy. I will never be able to deny the miracles I’ve seen and God’s hand in my life and in the lives of others. He is real, He is our Father. Jesus Christ is His Son, He is the Savior and Redeemer of the world. The Spirit helps us more than we know, because of Him I know with ever fiber of my being this is in fact The Church of Jesus Christ. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This is His one and only church, the same church He set up when he was on Earth.This is His Gospel. Joseph Smith was called to be a prophet and did in all truth translate The Book of Mormon from the power of God. It’s the truest book on Earth. I know it’s from Heavenly Father. I know it. IT’S ALL TRUE!
I love y’all ❀ see ya soon!
Love Always and Forever,
Sister Long πŸ™‚ 

Leave a Reply

